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Chapter 1 
 

COVERAGE 
 

A. Employer's Duty to Insure Payment of Compensation 
 

O.C.G.A. §34-9-120 states that "Every employer subject to the compensation provisions of 
this Chapter shall insure the payment of compensation to his employees in the manner 
provided in this article; and, while such insurance remains in force, he or those conducting his 
business shall be liable to any employee for personal injury or death by accident only to the 
extent and in the manner specified in this article.” 

 
Further, pursuant to O.C.G.A. §34-9-121(a) "…every employer subject to the provisions of 
this Chapter…shall secure and maintain full insurance against such employer’s liability for 
payment of compensation under this article, such insurance to be secured from some 
corporation, association, or organization licensed by law to transact the business of workers' 
compensation insurance in this state or from some mutual insurance association formed by a 
group of employers so licensed; or such employer shall furnish the Board with satisfactory 
proof of such employer’s financial ability to pay the compensation directly in the amount and 
manner and when due,  as provided for in this Chapter.” 
 
Pursuant to O.C.G.A. §34-9-121(b)(1) “Any employer from another state engaged in the 
construction industry within this state with a workers’ compensation policy issued under the 
laws of such other state so as to cover that employer’s employees while in this state shall be in 
compliance with subsection (a) of this Code if: 
 
 (A) Such other state recognizes the extraterritorial provisions of O.C.G.A. §34-9-242; and  
 (B) Such other state recognizes and gives effect within such state to workers’ 
compensation policies issued to employers of this state.” 
 

 
B. Self-Insurance (O.C.G.A. §34-9-127 and §34-9-380 et seq and Board Rule 121) 

 
An employer desiring to become self-insured shall apply by completing the Confidential 
Application for Private Self-Insuring Employers and Hospital Authorities and be accepted by 
the Board.  In addition, the employer must make application to be accepted by the Georgia 
Self-Insurers Guaranty Trust Fund, O.C.G.A. §34-9-382.  All questions must be answered 
fully and all financial information will be treated as strictly confidential.  Each application 
must be submitted in duplicate, with the company's audited financial statements for the last 
three years and a filing fee of $500 payable to the Georgia Self-Insurers Guaranty Trust Fund.  
Each company is considered on its own merits, but strict attention is paid to the size of 
company, financial stability, amount of annual premium, number of employees, yearly payroll 
and the company's loss history.  If a company is accepted as a self-insurer, a bond or letter of 
credit shall be posted in an amount not less than $250,000.  In addition, each active participant 
shall be required to purchase excess insurance for statutory limits with a self-insured retention 
specified by the Board. 
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Counties, municipalities and other political subdivisions must qualify as self-insurers or obtain 
insurance coverage.  Permission for self-insurance by counties, municipalities and political 
subdivisions may be granted by application to the Board, on a form entitled Confidential 
Application for Governmental Self-Insuring Employers and without deposit of surety bonds.  
Assurance must be given the Board that provision will be made for payment of all workers' 
compensation liabilities.  Each active participant shall be required to purchase excess 
insurance in an amount and with specific retention levels acceptable to the Board. 

 
Whenever an employer has complied with the provisions of the Workers' Compensation Act 
relating to self-insurance, the Board shall issue to such employer a certificate which shall 
remain in force for a period fixed by the Board; but the Board may, upon at least 30 days’ 
notice to the employer and after a hearing, revoke the certificate upon satisfactory evidence for 
such revocation having been presented. 

 
In order for a certificate to be granted by the Board under O.C.G.A. §34-9-127 and §34-9-382, 
the employer desiring to become a self-insurer must designate an office for the handling of 
claims (see Form WC-121 and Board Rule 127.)  Every service organization or office 
handling claims for self-insurance under the law shall be staffed during normal working hours 
and be available for immediate telephone contact with the Board and the public.  During 
normal working hours at this office, at least one staff member shall be authorized to execute 
negotiable instruments for the payment of compensation.  Certificates will be continuous 
unless the self-insurer fails to meet the requirements of the Board. 

 
 

C. Group Self-Insurers (O.C.G.A. §34-9-150 and Board Rule 126(b)) 
 

It is the intent of the General Assembly to provide an alternative mechanism through which 
bona fide members of the following may extend workers' compensation benefits to their 
employees through group self-insurance programs as defined in O.C.G.A. §34-9-151:  (a) 
counties; (b) hospital authorities; (c) municipalities; (d) professional associations; (e) school 
boards; and (f) trade associations.   

 
Group Self-Insurance Funds operating pursuant to the Georgia Workers' Compensation Act 
shall file with the Board a separate report, for each insured member employer, on Standard 
Coverage Form WC-11 on or before the effective date of coverage. 

 
1. The filing of Form WC-11 is evidence that coverage is in effect until superseded or 

terminated. 
 

2. The filing of a cancellation on Form WC-11 is evidence that coverage is terminated 
effective not less than 15 days after filing. 
 

3. If the self-insured member employer operates under different trade names or d/b/a (“doing 
business as”), a separate Form WC-11 must be filed for each trade name, properly cross-
referenced. 

 



 
 

(Rev. 7/17)  1-3 
  EMPLOYER REFERENCE SECTION 

D. Notice to or Knowledge of Accident (O.C.G.A. §34-9-123) 
 

All policies insuring the payment of compensation, including all contracts of mutual, 
reciprocal or interinsurance must contain a clause to the effect that, as between the employer 
and insurer, the notice to or knowledge of the occurrence of the injury on the part of the 
employer shall be deemed notice or knowledge, as the case may be, on the part of the insurer 
or insurers. 

 
 

E. Filing by Employer of Evidence of Compliance with Insurance Requirements (O.C.G.A. §34-
9-126 and Board Rule 126) 

 
Every employer subject to the compensation provisions of the Workers' Compensation Act 
shall file with the Board in the form prescribed by the Board, annually or as often as the Board 
may deem necessary, evidence satisfactory to the Board of their compliance with O.C.G.A. 
§34-9-121 and all other Code sections relating thereto. 
 
Every employer insured by a licensed insurer shall have proof of coverage documented by its 
insurer directly with a Licensed Rating Organization through their policy information system.  
Every employee leasing company shall have proof of coverage documented with a Licensed 
Rating Organization of the initiation or termination of any contractual relationship with a 
client company; for the purposes of this Rule, the term employee leasing company shall refer 
to both:  (1) any employee leasing company as defined in O.C.G.A. 34-8-32; and (2) any 
professional employer organization (PEO) as defined in O.C.G.A. 34-7-6.  Reports will be 
made to the Licensed Rating Organization pursuant to procedures outlined by the Licensed 
Rating Organization and approved by the Georgia State Board of Workers’ Compensation. 
 
1. The proof of coverage documented with a Licensed Rating Organization is evidence that 

coverage is in effect until superseded or terminated. 
 

2. Termination 
a. Non-renewals 

The expiration date documented by a Licensed Rating Organization shall be 
considered the date of termination on all non-renewals. 
 

b. A mid-term cancellation by a licensed insurer documented with a Licensed Rating 
Organization is evidence that coverage is terminated, effective not less than 15 days 
after filing except where the provisions of Title 33 provide for an earlier effective date. 

 
 

F. Payment of Compensation to Employees in Service of More Than One Employer (O.C.G.A. 
§34-9-224) 

 
Whenever any employee whose injury or death is compensable under this Chapter shall at the 
time of the injury be in the joint service of two or more employers subject to this chapter, such 
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employers shall contribute to the payment of such compensation in proportion to their wage 
liability to such employee. 
 
 

G. Payment of Compensation for Death Resulting From Injury (O.C.G.A. §34-9-265) 
 

1. If death results instantly from an accident arising out of and in the course of employment 
or if during the period of disability caused by an accident death results, the compensation 
under this Chapter shall be as follows: 

 
a. The employer shall, in addition to any other compensation, pay the reasonable 

expenses of the employee's burial not to exceed $7,500.  If the employee leaves no 
dependents, this shall be the only compensation. 

 
b. The employer shall pay the dependents of the deceased employee, who are wholly 

dependent on his/her earnings for support at the time of injury, a weekly compensation 
equal to the compensation which is provided for in O.C.G.A. §34-9-261 for total 
incapacity. 

 
c. If the employee leaves dependents only partially dependent on his/her earnings for 

their support at the time of his/her injury, the weekly compensation for these 
dependents shall be in the same proportion to the compensation for persons wholly 
dependent; as the average amount contributed weekly by the deceased’s weekly wage 
at the time of his/her injury. 

 
d. When weekly payments have been made to an injured employee before his/her death, 

compensation to dependents shall begin on the date of the last of such payments; but 
the number of weekly payments made to the injured employee under Code Section 34-
9-261, 34-9-262, or 34-9-263 shall be subtracted from the maximum 400-week period 
of dependency of a spouse provided by Code Section 34-9-13, and in no case shall 
payments be made to dependents except during dependency. 

 
e. The total compensation payable under this section to a surviving spouse as a sole 

dependent at the time of death and where there is no other dependent for one year or 
less after the death of the employee shall in no case exceed $230,000. 

 
f. If there are no dependents in a compensable death case, the insurer or self-insurer shall 

pay the State Board of Workers’ Compensation one-half of the benefits which would 
have been payable to such dependents or $10,000.00, whichever is less.  All such 
funds paid to the Board shall be deposited in the general fund of the state treasury.  If 
after such payment has been made, it is determined that a dependent or dependents 
qualified to receive benefits exist, then the insurer or self-insurer shall be entitled to 
reimbursement by refund for money collected in error. 

 
 



 
 

(Rev. 7/17)  1-5 
  EMPLOYER REFERENCE SECTION 

H. Applicability of Chapter IX to Occupational Disease; Circumstances in Which Death or 
Disability Resulting From Occupational Disease is Compensable (O.C.G.A. §34-9-281) 

 
1. Where the employer and employee are subject to this Chapter, the disablement or death of 

an employee resulting from an occupational disease shall be treated as the occurrence of 
an injury by accident; and the employee or, in the case of his/her death, the employee's 
dependents shall be entitled to compensation as provided by this Chapter.  The practice 
and procedure prescribed in this Chapter shall apply to all the proceedings under this 
article except as otherwise provided. 
 
Occupational disease is defined as those diseases, which arise out of and in the course of 
the particular employment in which the employee is exposed to such disease, provided 
that the employee proves all of the following: 
 
a. A direct causal connection between the conditions under which the work is performed 

and the disease; 
 

b. That the disease followed as a natural incident of exposure by reason of the 
employment; 

 
c. That the disease is not of a character to which the employee may have had substantial 

exposure outside of the employment; 
 

d. That the disease is not an ordinary disease of life to which the general public is 
exposed; and  

 
e. That the disease must appear to have had its origin in a risk connected with the 

employment and to have flowed from that source as a natural consequence.   
 

Partial loss of hearing due to noise shall not be considered an occupational disease.  
Psychiatric and psychological problems and heart and vascular diseases shall not be 
considered occupational diseases, except where they arise from a separate occupational 
disease. 

 
2. Except as otherwise provided in O.C.G.A. §34-9-281, an employer shall be liable for 

compensation under this article only where: 
 

a. The disease arose out of and in the course of the employment in which the employee 
was engaged under such employer, was contracted while the employee was so 
engaged, and has resulted from a hazard characteristic of the employment in excess of 
the hazards of such disease attending employment in general. 

 
b. The claim for disablement is filed within one year after the date the employee knew or, 

in the exercise of reasonable diligence, should have known of the disablement and its 
relationship to the employment; but in no event shall the claim for disablement be filed 
in excess of seven years after the last injurious exposure to the hazard of such disease 
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in such employment.  In cases of death where the cause of action was not barred 
during the employee's life, the claim must be filed within one year of the date of death. 

 
 

I. Insurance with More Than One Company; Use of Servicing Agents and Third Party     
Administrators (Board Rules 121 and 131) 

 
1. A compensation policy must cover all of the operations of an employer.  An employer has 

the right to place insurance with more than one insurer; but if this is done with respect to 
distinct operations, the policies must be concurrent and the written portions must read 
alike.  If there is any difference in coverage, it can be expressed as applying to a fractional 
part thereof.  If an employer has more than one place of business, each operation can be 
covered separately unless the business is interchangeable.  Each insurer on the risk must 
cover alike all the employees coming under the law.  Each insurer shall inform the Board 
of the proper address to be used by the Board for serving all hearing notices and other 
Board notices. 
 

2. Notice of Use of Servicing Agent or Third Party Administrator (Form WC- 121).  An 
insurer, self-insurer, or group fund shall file this form to give notice of the employment of 
a servicing agent or third party administrator, and of the termination of services of same. 
When obtaining the services of a servicing agent or third party administrator, this form 
shall be filed no later than the commencement date of those services. When terminating 
the services of a servicing agent or third party administrator, this form shall be filed no 
later than 30 days prior to the date of the cessation of services.  Also use the form to add 
an additional third party administrator. 

 
3. A third-party administrator/servicing agent must be licensed by the Office of the 

Commissioner of Insurance pursuant to O.C.G.A. §33-23-100 and follow the Rules and 
Regulations of the Insurance Commissioner’s Office. 

 
4. The transfer of files from one third party administrator/servicing agent to another must be 

handled in a professional and timely manner. 
 

a. Open indemnity files must be current as of the date of transfer and the transferring 
(former) third party administrator/servicing agent must include in the file a complete 
current Form WC-4 (completed within the last 30 days) reflecting all payments made 
as of the date of transfer. The transferring third party administrator/servicing agent 
must at the date of transfer provide the receiving third party administrator with a 
payment history on all Medical Only claims with an occurrence date of 90 days or less 
as of the date of transfer. Penalties for noncompliance by the transferring third party 
administrator/servicing agent would be in accordance with O.C.G.A. § 34-9-18(a). 

 
b. The receiving (new) third-party administrator/servicing agent must notify all active 

(open) claimants of the change in administration within 14 days of receiving the files. 
Vendors must be notified within 60 days of receipt of medical bills or service invoices. 
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5. Employers unable to obtain workers' compensation insurance coverage in any other 
manner may apply to the assigned risk pool: 

 
National Council on Compensation Insurance, Inc. 
901 Peninsula Corporate Circle 
Boca Raton, FL 33487-1362 
Phone:  1-800-622-4123 
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Chapter 2 
 

REPORTING REQUIREMENTS FOR EMPLOYERS 
CLAIMS FORMS (BOARD RULE 61) 

 
A. Form WC-1 Employer's First Report of Injury or Occupational Disease 

 
Employer should complete Section A of the form immediately upon knowledge of an injury 
and submit the form to their insurer.  The insurer then completes Form WC-1 for cases 
involving more than seven days of lost time and transmits it to the Board.   

 
Insurers, self-insurers or group funds shall complete Section B, C or D and send to the Board 
and a copy to the employee within 21 days of the employer's knowledge of disability. 

 
 
B. Additional Forms to be Filed by Insurers/Self-Insurers 
 

1. Form WC-2 Notice of Payment or Suspension of Benefits.  Use Form WC-2 to commence 
or suspend payment of weekly benefits after filing an Employer's First Report of Injury 
(Form WC-1).  For all other cases, including any change in weekly benefits, classification or 
rating of disability, file Form WC-2.  Furnish a copy to the injured worker. 
 

2. Form WC-2a Notice of Payment or Suspension of Death Benefits.  Use in death cases in 
lieu of Form WC-2.  Use when changes in dependency occur. 
 

3. Form WC-3 Notice to Controvert Payment of Compensation.  Complete Form WC-3 to 
controvert where a Form WC-1 has previously been filed.  Furnish copies to the injured 
worker and any other person with a financial interest in the claim (see Subsections (d), (h), 
and (i) of O.C.G.A. §34-9-221.) 

 
4. Form WC-4 Case Progress Report.  File as follows: 

a. Within 1 year of the first date of disability; 
b. Within 30 days from last payment for closure; 
c. Upon request of the Board; 
d. Every 12 months from the date of the last filing of a WC-4 on all open cases; 
e. To reopen a case; 
f. Within 30 day of final payment make pursuant to an approved settlement; 
g. Within 90 days of receipt of an open case by the new third party administrator. 
 

5. Form WC-6 Wage Statement.  The employer/insurer must file this form when the weekly 
benefit is less than the maximum under O.C.G.A. §34-9-262 and furnish a copy to the 
employee.  If a party makes a written request of the employer/insurer, then the employer 
must send the requesting party a completed Form WC-6 within 30 days, but should not send 
a copy to the Board. 
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6. Form WC-10 Notice of Election or Rejection of Workers' Compensation Coverage 
(O.C.G.A. §34-9-2.1,2.2, 2.3,  Rule 2).  

 
a. A sole proprietor or partner must file this form to elect coverage under the   provisions 

of O.C.G.A. §34-9-2.2.   
b. The employer/insurer must file this form in order that the corporate officer or limited 

liability company member is exempt from coverage, or to revoke their previously filed 
exemption. Rejection becomes effective the date of filing with the insurer, if there is 
one; and, if none, with the Board. 

c. The farm labor employer must file this form in order to request coverage for farm 
laborers, or to revoke their previously filed request. 

d. Pursuant to Rule 2(d), all WC-103 filed with the Board must be renewed every five 
years.  

 
7. Form WC-20(a) Medical Report (may also file 1500 Claim Form, UB 04 or American 

Dental Association (ADA) Dental Claim Form© 2012). The attending physician or other 
practitioner completes the report to document treatment and forwards it along with office 
notes and other narratives to the employer/insurer as follows: 

 
a. Within seven days of initial treatment; 
b. Upon the employee's discharge by the attending physician or at least every three months 

until the employee is discharged; 
c. Upon the employee's release to return to work; and 
d. When a permanent partial disability rating is determined. 

 
The employer/insurer shall file the report including office notes and narratives with the 
Board within 10 days after receipt as follows: 
 
a. When the report contains a permanent partial disability rating; 
b. When a rehabilitation plan is filed with the Board.  All medical reports and attachments 

which have not been filed with the Board must be filed at the time the plan is filed with 
the Board, and all medical reports and attachments received thereafter shall be filed with 
the Board within 10 days of receipt; 

c. Upon request of the Board; and 
d. To comply with other rules and regulations of the Board. 

 
The employer/insurer shall maintain copies of all medical reports and attachments in their 
files and shall not file medical reports except in compliance with Board Rules 
61(b)(12),(15), and (16) and 200(c). 

 
8. Medical Reports 
 

a. The employer/insurer shall file with the Board all medical reports, narratives and other 
correspondence only as provided in Board Rules 61(b)(12),(15), and (16) and 200(c). 

b. The employer/insurer shall file all required medical reports not previously filed. 
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9. Form WC-26 Consolidated Yearly Report of Medical Only Cases and Annual Payments on 
Indemnity Claims.  File on or before the 1st of March following the end of the calendar year 
pertaining to payments for injuries not reported on Form WC-1.  File annually even if no 
reportable injuries or payment occurred during the reporting year. 

 
10. Form WC-R1 Request for Rehabilitation.  The employer/insurer shall file: 

 
a. Within 48 hours of a compensable catastrophic injury, simultaneously with the Form 

WC-1, naming a catastrophic rehabilitation supplier. 
b. Within 20 days of notification that rehabilitation is required to request a rehabilitation 

supplier. 
c. When the employer/insurer requests a rehabilitation supplier for cases with dates of 

injury prior to July 1, 1992. 
d. When the employer/insurer requests a change of rehabilitation supplier. 
e. To request reopening of rehabilitation. 
f. Upon request of the Board. 

 
11. Any person who willfully fails to file any form or report required by the Board, fails to 

follow any order or directive of the Board or any of its members or Administrative Law 
Judges, or violates any rule or regulation of the Board shall be subject to a civil penalty of 
not less than $100 nor more than $1,000 per violation. The assessed penalty becomes final 
unless the person fined files a written request for a hearing within ten days of the 
assessment. Any person, firm, or corporation who willfully makes any false or misleading 
statement or representation for the purpose of obtaining or denying benefits shall be guilty 
of a misdemeanor and upon conviction may be assessed a civil penalty of not less than 
$1,000 nor more than $10,000 per violation or imprisonment not to exceed 12 months, or by 
both such fine and imprisonment (O.C.G.A. §§34-9-18 & 19). 
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Chapter 3 
 

METHOD OF PROVIDING MEDICAL TREATMENT 
 
A. Selection of Physician from Panel of Physicians (O.C.G.A. §34-9-201(b))  
 

O.C.G.A. §34-9-201(b) of the Workers' Compensation Law provides: 
 

1. The employer may satisfy the requirements for furnishing medical care in one of the 
following manners: 

 
a. The employer shall maintain a list of at least six physicians or professional associations 

or corporations of physicians who are reasonably accessible to employees.   This list 
shall be known as the P-1 "Panel of Physicians Poster" and is also available in Spanish. 
The employee may make one change from one physician to another on the same panel 
without prior authorization from the Board.  

 
At least one of the physicians must practice the specialty of orthopedic surgery.  Not 
more than two physicians on the panel shall be from industrial clinics.  One physician on 
the panel must be a minority. However, should a physician on the panel of physicians 
refuse to provide treatment to an employee who has previously received treatment from 
another panel physician, the employer/insurer, as soon as practicable, shall increase the 
panel for that employer by one physician for each such refusal.  

 
The Board may grant exceptions to the required size of the panel where it is 
demonstrated that more than six physicians or groups of physicians are not reasonably 
accessible.  In the event that the Board has granted an exception to any panel 
requirements, the exception must be posted in the same location as the panel. 

 
b. An employer or the workers' compensation insurer of an employer may contract with a 

managed care organization certified by the Board. This list shall be known as the P-3 
WC/MCO Panel Poster. Medical services provided in this manner shall be known as 
"Managed Care Organization Procedures."  Employees shall be given notice of the 
managed care organization’s network of eligible medical service providers and 
information regarding the contract and manner of receiving medical services, including a 
toll free 24-hour telephone number that informs employees of available services.   

 
c. An employee may obtain the services of any physician from the panel and may 

thereafter elect to change to another physician on the panel without prior authorization 
of the Board.  The physician so selected will become the primary treating physician in 
control of the employee's medical care. 

 
O.C.G.A. §34-9-201(g) provides that the Board shall ensure, whenever feasible, the 
participation of minority physicians on panels of physicians and managed care 
organizations maintained by employers.  For the definition of "minority," see Chapter 7 
(A) (1) of this manual and Rule 201(a)(1)(i). 
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2. Businesses with multiple locations should choose physicians for their panel who are in close 

proximity to each individual location.  The employer should contact each physician (group, 
professional association, or professional corporation) prior to listing them on the posted 
panel, conformed panel, or within the managed care organization provider network 
procedures to assure their willingness to treat workers' compensation patients’ claims. 

 
3. Notwithstanding any selection made pursuant to his/her rights under the posted panel, 

conformed panel, or managed care organization procedures, an employee, after a 
compensable injury and within 120 days of receipt of any income benefits, shall have the 
right to one examination at a reasonable time and place, within this state or within 50 miles 
of the employee's residence, by a duly qualified physician or surgeon designated by the 
employee and to be paid for by the employer/insurer.  Such examination shall not repeat any 
diagnostic procedures which have been performed since the date of the employee's injury 
unless the costs of such diagnostic procedures which are in excess of $250 are paid for by a 
party other than the employer or the insurer. 

 
4. If an emergency situation arises in which there is not time to comply with selection 

requirements, the injured employee is authorized to seek temporary care as necessary.  This 
authorization lasts for the duration of the emergency.  All follow-up medical care should be 
supplied by a physician from the panel, conformed panel (or the authorized treating 
physician's referral), or from the managed care organization’s provider network. 

 
5. The "P-1 (Panel of Physicians)" or "P-3 (WC/MCO Panel)" must be posted in prominent 

locations accessible to all employees such as bulletin Boards, employees' break station, time 
card clock, personnel office, etc.  The P-1 or P-3 should also be posted at remote job sites 
where employees are regularly required to work away from their principal place of business.  
The employer shall take all reasonable measures to ensure that employees:  

 
a. Understand the function of the P-1 or P-3;  

 
b. Understand his/her right to select a physician from the panel, conformed panel, or   

managed care organization in case of an on-the-job injury and to make a one-time 
change of physician within the panel without Board approval. 
 

c. Are given appropriate assistance in contacting panel, conformed panel, or managed care 
organization members when necessary. 
 
 

B. Changes in Treatment  
 

Except as provided in Subsection (b) of O.C.G.A. §34-9-201, changes in physician or treatments 
are made only by agreement of the parties or by order of the Board.  Board authorized changes 
are effective on the date the request is filed with the Board, unless a later date is specified in the 
Board’s order.  The request for change in physician shall include the address of the physician to 
whom a change or additional treatment is desired.  A request for, or objection to, a change of 
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physician or additional treatment must be filed on Form WC-200b, with supporting 
documentation attached and with copies provided to all parties.  If the argument in support of, or 
in objection to, the change is based on testimony, an affidavit must be attached to the form and, 
if the argument refers to documents, a copy of the documents must be attached.  Parties are 
required to make a “good faith” effort to resolve a change of physician dispute prior to filing a 
Form WC-200b.   
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Chapter 4 
 

MEDICAL 
 

A.  Medical Reports (Board Rule 200 (e)  
 

The employer/insurer shall not file the medical reports with the Board, except as follows: 
 

1. When the report contains a permanent partial disability rating; 
2. When a Rehabilitation Plan is filed with the Board.  All medical reports and attachments 

which have not been filed with the Board must be filed at the time the plan is filed with 
the Board, and all medical reports and attachments received thereafter shall be filed with 
the Board within 10 days of receipt; 

3. Upon request of the Board; and 
4. To comply with other rules and regulations of the Board. 

 
The employer/insurer shall maintain copies of all medical reports and attachments in their 
files and shall not file medical reports with the Board except in compliance with Board Rules 
61(b)(13). 
 
The employee shall, upon the request of the employer/insurer, furnish copies of all medical 
records and reports in his/her possession within 30 days of the date of the request, the cost of 
which shall be charged to the employer/insurer according to the fee schedule.  The 
employer/insurer shall, upon the request of the employee, furnish copies of all medical 
reports in their possession within 30 days of the date of the request, at no expense to 
employee.  Upon failure of either party to furnish information as provided above, the 
physician or other medical providers shall, upon request, furnish copies of all medical reports 
and bills in their possession at no expense to the employee, the cost of such records shall be 
billed according to the fee schedule, and charged against the party determined to be 
responsible for payment of medical expenses (Board Rule 61(b)(18); Board Rule 200 (f)). 

 
 
B. Independent Medical Examinations (IME) (Board Rule 202) 

 
1. An IME may include physical, psychiatric and psychological examinations.  An 

examination may also include reasonable and necessary testing as recommended by the 
examining physician. 
 

2. The employer/insurer shall give the employee and/or his/her attorney ten (10) days written 
notice of the time and place of any requested examination. Advance payment of required 
travel expenses shall accompany such notice. 
 

3. The employer/insurer shall not suspend weekly benefits for refusal of the employee to 
submit to examination or cooperate with treatment except by order of the Board. 
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4. The employer/insurer cannot restrict treatment to the panel of physicians, conformed panel, 
or managed care organization where they have controverted the claim.  However, if the 
controverted claim is subsequently found to be or is accepted as compensable, the employee 
is authorized to select one of the physicians who has provided treatment for the work-related 
injury prior to the finding or acceptance of compensability, and such physician becomes the 
authorized treating physician.  The employee may thereafter make one change from that 
physician to another physician without approval of the employer and without an order of the 
Board.  However, any further change of physician or treatment must be in accordance with 
O.C.G.A. §34-9-200 and Board Rule 200. 

 
 
C. Payment of Medical Expenses (Board Rule 203(a))  
 

The insurer/self-insurer are responsible for the payment of all reasonable, necessary, and related 
medical expenses prescribed by an authorized treating physician, including diagnostic testing, to 
determine causation.  The insurer/self-insurer may automatically conform charges according to 
the fee schedule adopted by the Board and shall pay within 30 days from the date of receipt of 
the charges. The insurer/self-insurer must provide written notification to the medical provider 
within 30 days of the receipt of medical charges, the reasons for non-payment of medical 
expenses and a written itemization of any documents or other information needed to process the 
claim for medical benefits. Failure of the insurer/self-insurer to notify the medical provider in 
writing within 30 days of the receipt of the charges of the need for further documentation will be 
deemed a waiver of the right to defend a claim for failure to pay charges in a timely fashion on 
the ground that the charges were not accompanied with the proper documentation.  However, 
this waiver does not extend to any other defense the insurer/self-insurer may have with respect 
to a claim of untimely payment.  If the insurer/self-insurer is controverting the medical 
expenses, they must file a Form WC-3, Notice to Controvert, with the Board within the 30 days 
allowed for payment.  All persons having a financial interest, including the physician, must 
receive a copy of the Form WC-3. 
 
Medical expenses shall include, but are not limited to, the reasonable cost of travel between the 
employee's home and the place of examination or treatment, including physical therapy 
appointments or the pharmacy visits.  When travel is by private vehicle, the rate of mileage shall 
be 40 cents per mile (Board Rule 203(e)).  Travel expenses beyond the employee's home city 
shall include the actual cost of meals and lodging.  Travel expenses shall further include the 
actual reasonable cost of meals when total elapsed time of the trip to obtain outpatient treatment 
exceeds four hours per visit.  Cost of meals shall not exceed $30 per day.  Medical expenses 
include the reasonable cost of attendant care directed by the treating physician during travel and 
convalescence. 
 
Reasonable medical charges must be paid within 30 days of the date that the insurer/self-insurer 
receives the charges and reports.  If the medical charges are not paid within 30 days of the 
receipt of the documentation required by the Board, the following penalties will apply: A 10% 
penalty on reasonable medical charges paid after 30 days but before 60 days; a 20% penalty on 
reasonable medical charges paid after 60 days but before 90 days; and, in addition to the 20% 
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penalty, a 12% per annum interest rate is charged on reasonable medical charges paid after 90 
days.  The penalties and interest are payable directly to the provider. 

 
 
D. Procedure When Amount of Medical Expenses, Necessity of Treatment or Authorized 

Treatment are Disputed (Board Rule 203(b), 205)  
 

Medical expenses shall be limited to the usual, customary and reasonable charges.  
Employers/insurers may automatically conform charges according to the fee schedule adopted 
by the Board, and the charges listed in the fee schedule shall be presumed usual, customary and 
reasonable and shall be paid within 30 days from the date of receipt of the charges.  
Employer/insurer shall not unilaterally change any CPT-4 or CDT code of the provider. All 
charges automatically conformed according to the fee schedule adopted by the Board shall be 
for the CPT-4 or CDT code listed by the provider. In situations where charges have been 
reduced or payment of a bill denied, the insurer, self-insurer, or third party administrator shall 
provide an Explanation of Benefits with payment information explaining why the charge has 
been reduced or disallowed, along with a narrative explanation of each Explanation of Benefit 
code used.   
 
Any health service provider whose fee is reduced to conform to the fee schedule may request 
peer review of charges and present evidence as to the reasonableness of his/her charges. If the 
dispute is not resolved through the recommendations of peer review, then mediation or hearing 
may be requested.  An employer/insurer who disputes that any charge as the usual, customary 
and reasonable charge prevailing in the state of Georgia shall, within 30 days of the receipt of 
the charges, file with the appropriate peer review committee a request for review of only those 
specific charges which are disputed.  No CPT, CDT, DRG, or ICD-10 Codes are to be changed 
without first notifying, and then obtaining permission from, the authorized treating 
physician/hospital.  Any physician/hospital whose charges are disputed and any party disputing 
such charges must comply with requirements of law, Board rules, and, if applicable, rules of the 
appropriate peer review committee, before the Board will order payment of any disputed 
charges.  The injured worker's name and address must be included in the request for peer 
review.  Effective July 1, 1992, Board Rule 203(b) was changed to allow all parties to 
correspond directly with Board approved peer review committees.  These committees may be 
contacted at the following addresses. 

   
  Valerie Smith, Executive Director 
  Georgia Chiropractic Association, Inc. 
  1926 Northlake Parkway, Suite 201 
  Tucker, GA  30084 
  (770) 723-1100; FAX (770) 723-1722 
   
  Martha Turner-Quest, Executive Director 
  Georgia Psychological Association 
  13 Corporate Blvd., NE, Suite 220 
  Atlanta, GA  30329 
  (404) 634-6272, ext. 201; FAX (404) 634-8230 
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  Mr. Stuart Platt, M.S.P.T., P.T., Principal 
  Appropriate Utilization Group, LLC 
  881 Piedmont Avenue 
  Atlanta, GA  30309 
  (404) 728-1974; FAX (404) 728-1975 
 

Within 30 days of the date that a decision is issued by a peer review organization, the 
employer/insurer shall either make payment of disputed charges based upon the 
recommendations of the peer review committee or request mediation.  If the dispute is not 
resolved through mediation, a hearing may be requested.  The peer review committee shall serve 
a copy of its decision upon the employee, or if represented by counsel, on the employee's 
attorney.  A physician whose fee has been reduced by the peer review committee shall have 30 
days from the date that the recommendation is mailed to request mediation.  If the dispute is not 
resolved through mediation, a hearing may be requested.  In the event of a hearing, the 
recommendations of the peer review committee shall be evidence of the usual, customary and 
reasonable charges.  

 
 

E. Reimbursement of Group Carrier or Other Healthcare Provider (Board Rule 206)  
 

A Form WC-206 shall be submitted to the Board by the group insurance company or other 
healthcare provider seeking reimbursement at any time during the pendency of a claim.  Copies 
shall also be sent by the party requesting reimbursement to all counsel and unrepresented 
parties.  When the Board receives a request for reimbursement and designation as a party at 
interest, upon approval the Board will provide the party requesting reimbursement with notice 
of the hearing. 
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Chapter 5 
 

INSPECTION OF PREMISES, NONCOMPLIANCE, AND 
FALSE OR MISLEADING STATEMENTS OR REPRESENTATIONS 

(Workers’ Compensation Fraud) 
 
A. Enforcement Division  
 

In accordance with O.C.G.A. §34-9-24, there is established within the Board, a fraud and 
compliance division.  Pursuant to Board Rule 24 this division shall be known as the 
Enforcement Division.  The Enforcement Division shall assist the Board in administratively 
investigating allegations of fraud and noncompliance and in developing and implementing 
programs to prevent fraud and abuse in workers' compensation. The Enforcement Division is a 
sworn law enforcement agency with the authority to execute search warrants and make arrests 
pursuant to warrants being issued as a result of a criminal investigation of an alleged violation of 
this Chapter. 
 
In the absence of fraud or malice, no person or entity who furnishes to the Board information 
relevant to suspected fraud or noncompliance with regards to workers' compensation laws shall 
be liable for damages in regards to the furnishing of said information. 
 
Board Rule 24 outlines the procedure utilized by the Enforcement Division to request a hearing. 
Subsection (b) of Rule 24 authorizes the Enforcement Division to request a hearing before an 
administrative law judge for the assessment of civil penalties against any person or entity for 
violating provisions of Title 34-9 by filing Board Form WC-24.  Board Form WC-24 is for use 
only by the Enforcement Division to request a hearing.  All hearings will be conducted pursuant 
to O.C.G.A. §34-9-102 and Board Rule 102. Subsection (c) of Rule 24 states that all appeals of 
a decision of the administrative law judge concerning civil penalties for violations of Title 34-9 
must follow O.C.G.A. §34-9-103 and O.C.G.A. §34-9-105 and their accompanying Board 
Rules. 
 
Board Rule 24 provides the Enforcement Division the authority to issue a Board directive when 
investigating incidences of noncompliance.  Pursuant to subsection (d), during an investigation 
of alleged noncompliance with the provisions of Chapter 9 of Title 34, the Enforcement 
Division of the State Board of Workers’ Compensation may issue a notice for verification of 
coverage directing the employer, within fifteen days of the date of the notice, to provide either 
proof of workers’ compensation coverage or proof as to why the employer is not subject to the 
Act.  This notice shall be considered a directive of the Board.    

 
 

B. Authority to Inspect  
 

Pursuant to O.C.G.A. §34-9-128, the Board and its authorized representatives shall have the 
power and authority to enter any place of employment and to inspect the same, together with all 
employment, payroll, and injury records at any reasonable time for the purpose of investigating 
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compliance with this Chapter and making inspections for the proper enforcement of this 
Chapter. 

 
The willful refusal of an employer to permit inspections and investigations as stated in this Code 
Section or to comply with O.C.G.A. §34-9-120, O.C.G.A. §34-9-121, and O.C.G.A §34-9-126 
after being notified of non-compliance by the Board may subject the employer to a penalty to be 
assessed by the Board not exceeding $50.00 per day so long as the refusal shall continue. 

 
 
C. Compliance with Insurance Requirements  

 
According to O.C.G.A. §34-9-121(a), unless otherwise ordered or permitted by the Board, every 
employer subject to the provisions of this Chapter relative to the payment of compensation shall 
secure and maintain full insurance against such employer’s liability for payment of 
compensation under this article.  Premiums for workers’ compensation insurance cannot be 
withheld from an employee’s pay. 

 
O.C.G.A. §34-9-126(a) states every employer subject to the compensation provisions of this 
Chapter shall file with the Board in the form prescribed by the Board, annually or as often as the 
Board in its discretion may deem necessary, evidence satisfactory to the Board of its compliance 
with O.C.G.A. §34-9-121. 

 
 

D. Penalties for Non-Compliance, Failure to Maintain Required Workers’ Compensation Insurance 
Coverage  

 
In addition to the penalty outlined in Section B above, O.C.G.A. §34-9-18(c) provides that the 
Board may assess a civil penalty of not less than $500 nor more than $5,000 per violation for the 
violation of O.C.G.A. §34-9-121 or §34-9-126(a). 

 
Subsection (b) of O.C.G.A. §34-9-126 provides criminal sanctions for non-compliance by 
stating, “Any employer subject to the compensation provisions of this Chapter who refuses or 
willfully neglects to comply with Subsection (a) of this Code section shall be guilty of a 
misdemeanor.” 

 
 

E. Penalties for Making False or Misleading Statements when Obtaining or Denying Benefits 
 

O.C.G.A. §34-9-18(b) provides a civil penalty of not less than $1,000.00 nor more than $10, 
000 per violation when any person knowingly and intentionally makes any false or misleading 
statement or misrepresentation for the purpose of obtaining or denying workers’ compensation 
benefits or payments.  O.C.G.A. §34-9-19 provides criminal sanctions against any person, firm, 
or corporation who willfully makes false or misleading statements or representations for 
obtaining or denying workers’ compensation benefits or payments. Upon conviction, a fine of 
not less than $1,000 or more than $10,000 or by imprisonment not to exceed 12 months or both 
may be levied. 
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F. Penalty for Employee’s Fraudulent Receipt of Benefits  
 

O.C.G.A §34-9-21 provides any employee who, with the intent to defraud, receives and retains 
any income benefits to which he or she is not entitled shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and upon 
conviction thereof, shall be punished for each offense by a fine of not less than $1,000 nor more 
than $10,000 or by imprisonment not to exceed one year or by both such fine and imprisonment. 

 
 

G.  Payment of Penalties 
 

All civil penalties and cost assessed under these Code Sections shall be tendered to the State 
Board of Workers’ Compensation. 

 
Any person, firm or corporation assessed civil penalties according to these Code Sections may 
also be assessed the costs of investigation and/or collection. The cost of collection may also 
include reasonable attorney’s fees. 
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Chapter 6 
 

GEORGIA SUBSEQUENT INJURY TRUST FUND (O.C.G.A. §34-9-350 et seq.) 
 
A. Purpose and Construction of Article O.C.G.A. §34-9-350 et seq  
 

The Subsequent Injury Trust Fund, as part of Georgia's Workers' Compensation Law, is 
designed to reduce the impact of singularly large workers' compensation exposure in the event a 
worker with a disability, injured on the job, aggravates his/her earlier impairment.  The fund 
works in several ways:  (1) helps to keep employers' insurance premiums under control, (2) 
helps maintain an employer's insurability; and in the case of a self-insured employer, the self-
insurer does not face workers' compensation exposure above the deductible levels. 
 
As an employer, you must have knowledge of the previous permanent impairment and 
determine that it is likely a hindrance to employment.  This knowledge must exist prior to the 
new injury for the resources of the Subsequent Injury Trust Fund to become involved. Prior 
knowledge of the conditions listed in O.C.G.A. §34-9-361 will satisfy this requirement.  The 
employer's knowledge provision of O.C.G.A. §34-9-361 does not violate ADA laws. 
 
In accordance with OCGA 34-9-368 the Subsequent Injury Trust Fund will not accept claims 
for reimbursement that have an accident date of July 1, 2006 or later.  Notification of a claim 
must be in writing, transmitted on the facsimile machine, or transmitted electronically and 
forwarded to: 

 
The Georgia Subsequent Injury Trust Fund 
Marquis II Tower, Suite 1250 
285 Peachtree Center Avenue, NW 
Atlanta, GA  30303 

 
Phone:  (404) 656-7000 
FAX:  (404) 656-7100 
Website: www.sitf.georgia.gov 
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Chapter 7 
 

REHABILITATION 
 

A. Reference to Insurer/Self-Insurer Section  
 

This chapter of the Procedure Manual is a separate manual; Rehabilitation & Managed Care 
Procedure Manual.  The most recent version is available on the Board’s website, 
www.sbwc.georgia.gov, under Publications. 

 
 
 

http://www.sbwc.georgia.gov/

