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FOREWORD

The Workers” Compensation Rehabilitation Supplier’s Fee Schedule for
Services Rendered Under the Georgia Workers” Compensation Act (the
“fee schedule™”) is updated and published by the Georgia State Board of
Workers®™ Compensation in accordance with O.C.G.A. 8 34-9-205. The fee
schedule provides a comprehensive guide as to what constitutes usual,
customary and reasonable charges for rehabilitation care and services.
When medically necessary, fees in excess of the fee schedule for
certain services may be permitted, but must be justified in writing.
When possible, an agreement should be reached between the parties
before proceeding with such services.

(1) All billings for rehabilitation services provided are to be
billed in tenths of an hour [.1 = 6 minutes] and submitted under the
standardized billing format. To indicate medical rehabilitation or
vocational rehabilitation, add the letter “M” for medical services and
the letter “V” for vocational services preceding the procedure code.

(2) Rehabilitation supplier services and charges shall be limited to
what 1is usual, customary and reasonable. In non-catastrophic claims,
suppliers shall conform charges to the rehabilitation fee schedule
adopted by the Board and the charges listed in the rehabilitation fee
schedule shall be presumed usual, customary and reasonable.
Employers, insurers or third party administrators may automatically
conform the listed charges to the fee schedule but may not
unilaterally change a billing description to conform to a listed
charge. Catastrophic claims as defined in O0.C.G.A. § 34-9-200.1(0G)
are exempt from the fee schedule except for the hourly rate. When a
party misses scheduled appointments without proper notification,
rehabilitation charges will be billed at half of the regular fee.
Non-billable costs include postage (excluding certified and overnight
mail), clerical services, iIn-house waiting time, attempted telephone
contacts, and in-house staffing.

(3) Employers, insurers and third party administrators shall pay all
reasonable charges within 30 days of receipt of the charges and
supportive documentation. An employer, insurer, or third party
administrator who believe there are any charges not listed in the fee
schedule, or any service being disputed, that are not usual,
customary, reasonable or necessary, or if a rehabilitation supplier
believes their bill was erroneously, unilaterally reduced, shall in
the first instance submit to peer review and thereafter may Ffile a WC-
14 to request a mediation or hearing. The aggrieved party requesting
peer review shall follow these procedures:
a. The employer/insurer shall pay when due all charges deemed
reasonable, and follow the procedures set forth in subsection
(2) for review of only those specified charges that are
disputed.



b.

For charges or services which are disputed as not being usual,
customary, reasonable or necessary or allegations of improper
reduction of a bill, the employer, insurer, servicing agent,
or rehabilitation supplier shall Tfile a request for peer
review with a peer review committee approved by the Board
within 30 days of receipt of the iInitial charges with
supportive documentation or reduced payment of charges billed.
The request shall specify the charges in dispute and the
argument in support of the party’s position. The requesting
party shall provide the peer review committee with all the
supportive documentation that the rehabilitation supplier
provided when the bill was originally submitted and shall mail
a copy of the request and supporting documentation with a
certificate of service upon the rehabilitation supplier,
employer, insurer or third party administrator, all counsel of
record and any unrepresented parties, including the names and
addresses. The certificate of service shall also include a
statement that any response to the complaint is due in writing
within 15 days of the certificate of service to the name and
address of the peer review committee member selected. In
addition, the peer review committee member selected shall send
a notification of this right to the opposite party immediately
upon receipt of the request.

The peer review committee approved by the Board is listed
below. The requesting party shall contact the selected
committee member by telephone prior to mailing the request.
These committee members may be contacted at the Tollowing
addresses and telephone numbers:

Hunter Ramseur, M.Ed., L.P.C., C.D.M.S.
404 Glenn Circle

Decatur, GA 30030

(404) 354-0068

Debbie Berens, CRC, CCM, CLCP
1156 Masters Lane

Snellville, GA 30078

(770) 978-9212

Depending upon which party initiated the request for peer
review, the opposite party [the employer, insurer, third party
administrator or the rehabilitation supplier], unless unusual
circumstances are present which must be communicated, shall
have 15 days from the date of the certificate of service in
which to respond to the request for peer review. A copy of
the response and any supportive documentation shall be mailed
with a certificate of service to the opposite party, all
counsel of record and any unrepresented party.



e. The employer, insurer or third party administrator shall,
within 30 days from the date that a decision regarding the
peer review of charges or services 1s issued by the peer
review committee, make payment of disputed charges based upon
the recommendations, or request a mediation or hearing, by
filing a WC-14. Likewise, a rehabilitation supplier shall
have 30 days from the date that the recommendation is mailed
to request a mediation or hearing, by filing a WC-14. 1In case
of a mediation or hearing, the recommendations of the peer
review committee shall be evidence of the usual, customary,
reasonable and necessary services and charges.

f. In cases where the peer review committee recommends that the
fee be reduced, the employer, insurer or third party
administrator shall pay the supplier the fee amount
recommended by the peer review committee less the filing costs
initially paid by the employer, insurer or third party
administrator. In the event the peer review committee
recommends the entire fee be disallowed, the employer, insurer
or third party administrator may automatically deduct the
filing costs for peer review from future allowable charges
submitted by the rehabilitation supplier rendered to the same
employee arising out of the same injury. In the event the
peer review recommends an iIncrease In payment of a charge that
was unilaterally reduced by the employer, insurer or third
party administrator, the payment shall be made plus the filing
costs for peer review paid by the rehabilitation supplier.

Peer review will be conducted in accordance with O.C.G.A. Title 34
Chapter 9 and Board Rule 200.1 without regard to the parties involved

in each claim. Unless unusual circumstances are present, the peer
review committee will complete all reviews within 30 days of
submission. The peer review committee shall mail a copy of its

decision with a certificate of service upon the rehabilitation
supplier, employer, iInsurer or third party administrator, all counsel
of record and any unrepresented parties. All submissions for peer
review shall be deemed confidential 1in nature and shall not be
revealed to any outside party. However, upon request, the peer review
committees will provide the Board with status reports of all
outstanding cases. Payment for peer review services are between the
peer review committee selected and the party requesting peer review.
The cost shall be discussed and negotiated between these parties
before the review takes place. The State Board of Workers*
Compensation is not a party to these transactions and will not be
involved with any decision-making in the peer review process.

(4) The non-payment or late payment of rehabilitation suppliers’
bills will be handled in the same manner as provided in O.C.G.A. § 34-
9 et. seqg. and the Board Rules for the non-payment or late payment of
medical expenses.



(5) Adjustments to the fee schedule will be reviewed and may be
adjusted by the State Board of Workers®™ Compensation on an annual
basis. Recommendations regarding adjustments to the Tfee schedule
shall be presented and reviewed by the Rehabilitation/Managed Care
Subcommittee of the State Board of Workers® Compensation Advisory
Council 30 days prior to any changes being made.



PROFESSIONAL REHABILITATION

FEE GUIDELINES

HOURLY RATE - $75.00 NON-CATASTROPHIC, $80.00 CATASTROPHIC

CODES
098

099

PROCEDURE
CODES
100
101
102
103
104
105
106
107
108
109
110
111
112
113
114
115
116
117
118
119
120
121
122
123
124
125
126

FEASIBILITY ASSESSMENT

Initial Medical/Vocational Review: 1.0 Hours

Initial Meeting with Claimant/Family: 2.0 Hours

THE ABOVE ARE ONE-TIME ACTIVITIES.
TO EACH ITEM FOR STANDARDIZED BILLING.

PHONE CALLS

Accommodations (Hotel/Motel, etc.)
Attorney

Client

Client"s Family

Counselor

Economist

Equipment Specialist
Hospital

Insurance Company

Labor Market survey

Nursing services

Pharmacy
Physical/Occupational Therapist
Physician

Potential Employer

Present Employer

Previous Employer
Psychologist

Rehabilitation Facility
Rehabilitation Specialist
Research

State Agency

Union

Vendor

Vocational/Academic School
Workers®™ Compensation Board
Other (Detail Explicitly)

CODES ARE TO BE ADDED

TIME

ALL CALLS
MAXTMUM

-2 EACH,
per
occurrence

ALL CALLS
MAX1TMUM

.2 EACH,
per
occurrence

ALL CALLS
MAX IMUM

.2 EACH,
per
occurrence



PROCEDURE
CODES
200
201
202
203
204
205
206
207
208.
209
210
211
212
213
214
215
216
217
218

PROCEDURE
CODES
300
301
302
303
304
305
306
307
308
309
310
311
312

PROCEDURE
CODES

400

401

402

403

404

405
406
407
408

CONFERENCE/VISITS

Attorney

Client

Counselor

Current/Previous Employer
Family

Hospital

Insurance Company
Physical/Occupational Therapist
Physician

Potential Employer
Psychologist

Registered Nurse
Rehabilitation Facility
School (Vocational/Academic)
Wheelchair Specialist
Workers®™ Compensation Board
Conference/Team Conference
Prepare for Conference
Other (Detail Explicitly)

CORRESPONDENCE

Attorney

Client

Current/Previous Employer
Family

Insurance Company

Medical Facility
Physical/Occupational Therapist
Physician

Potential Employer
Psychologist

Vocational Facility
Workers®™ Compensation Board
Other (Detail Explicitly)

PROFESSIONAL SERVICES/REPORTS

Amended Vocational Evaluation Plan
Amended Rehabilitation Plan

Assess On-The-Job Training Program
Accessibility Evaluation

Attend Hearing/Deposition
(REQUESTING PARTY PAYS FEE)
Closure Report

Coordinate Client Transportation
Extended Medical Evaluation Plan
Follow-up Report

TIME
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409
410
411
412
413

414
415
416

417
418
419
420
421

PROCEDURE
CODES
500
501
502
503
504
505
506
507
508
509
510

512
513
514
515
516

517

PROCEDURE
CODES
600
601
602
603
604
605
606
607
608

Initial Report

Job Development

Medical Evaluation Plan

Preliminary Report

Prepare for Hearing/Deposition
Conference

Progress/Status Report

Rehabilitation Plan

Reports to Regulatory Agency
(Workers® Compensation, Etc.)

Vocational Evaluation Plan

WCR-2

WCR-2A

WCR-3

Other (Detail Explicitly)

MEDICAL SERVICES

Assess Research/Analysis Medical
Coordinate Vocational Evaluation
Coordinate Medical Evaluation/Treatment
Coordinate Medical Equipment Purchase
Coordinate Medical Services

Cost Analysis

Counseling

Discharge Planning

Health Teaching/Guidance w/Client
Liaison w/Rehabilitation Facility
Medical Staffing

Monitor Medical Services
Obtain Medical Records
Review Psychological Evaluation
Review Medical Documents
Survey/Research Medical Facility
and Services

(Medical Facility Assessment)

Other (Detail Explicitly)

VOCATIONAL SERVICES

Assess Work Place

Computer/Job Quest

Contact with Labor Union
Coordinate Home Care Services
Coordinate Home Modifications
Coordinate Vocational Services
Correspondence (See 300 Codes)
Counseling

Develop Resume
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609 Explore/Develop Vocational Goals 3.0

610 Follow-up Services, RTW 1.0

611 Review Functional Capacity Assessment 0.5

612 Job Placement Services Actual

613 Labor Market/Feasibility Study 1.0

614 Life Care Plan Actual

615 Perform Job Analysis (on-site) 3.5

616 Prepare Job Description 1.0

617 Review Vocational Documents 0.5

618 Self-employment Analysis Actual

619 Survey/Research Vocational Facility 1.0

620 Training/Job Seeking Skills 1.0

621 Vocational Skills/Employability 1.0
Analysis

622 Vocational Testing with Scoring 2.0
Interpretation

623 Vocational Research/Analysis 0.5

624 Vocational Counseling/Guidance 1.0
Activities

625 Vocational Evaluation Maximum Charge $600.00

626 Other (Detail Explicitly) Actual

PROCEDURE FILE MANAGEMENT TIME

CODES

700 Lodging Per Agreement By Parties

701 Long Distance Calls Actual

702 Meals for Overnight Travel Not >$30.00 per day

703 Mileage (prorate when appropriate) $.40/mile

704 Parking/Tolls Actual

705 Photocopies $.50/page

706 Travel Time (prorate when appropriate) 172 of

Hourly Rate
707 Fax $.75 page
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